NCEA - A guide for students, parents and whānau

What is NCEA?

National Certificate of Educational Achievement (NCEA) is New Zealand's national qualifications for senior secondary school students.

NCEA challenges students of all abilities in all learning areas, and shows credits and grades for separate skills and knowledge. It enables students to gain credits from both traditional school curriculum areas and alternative programmes.

NCEA and other national certificates are recognised by employers and are used as the benchmark for selection by universities and polytechnics.

NCEA is also readily accepted overseas, including by universities. When applying for employment, prospective employees can create a summary of their results from their Record of Achievement.

Mākoura College offers a broad of range NCEA courses, in which students are internally and externally assessed.

The NCEA Website

Click here to go to the NCEA Website.

Click here to watch the video in Te Reo Māori

Schools use a range of internal and external assessments to measure how well students meet these standards. When a student achieves a standard, they gain a number of credits. Students must achieve a certain number of credits to gain an NCEA certificate.

There are three levels of NCEA certificate, depending on the difficulty of the standards achieved. In general, students work through levels 1 to 3 in years 11 to 13 at school. Students are recognised for high achievement at each level by gaining NCEA with Merit or NCEA with Excellence. High achievement in a course is also recognised.


NZQA Assessment Handbook for Students 2021

This booklet is designed to help you and your whānau understand the National Certificate of Educational Achievement (NCEA) and the assessment procedures that Makoura College follows to help you gain them. If you have further questions please talk to your teachers, the Principal’s Nominee (Mr Hrstich) or visit: