NCEA - A guide for students, parents and whānau

What is NCEA?

National Certificate of Educational Achievement (NCEA) is New Zealand's national qualifications for senior secondary school students.

NCEA challenges students of all abilities in all learning areas, and shows credits and grades for separate skills and knowledge. It enables students to gain credits from both traditional school curriculum areas and alternative programmes.

NCEA and other national certificates are recognised by employers and are used as the benchmark for selection by universities and polytechnics.

NCEA is also readily accepted overseas, including by universities. When applying for employment, prospective employees can create a summary of their results from their Record of Achievement.

Makoura College offers a broad of range NCEA courses, in which students are internally and externally assessed. Recent data shows that Makoura College is performing well when compared to national average results.

The NCEA Website

Click here to go to the NCEA Website

Click here to watch the video in Te Reo Māori

Each year, students study a number of courses or subjects. In each subject, skills and knowledge are assessed against a number of standards. For example, a Mathematics standard could be: Apply numeric reasoning in solving problems.

Schools use a range of internal and external assessments to measure how well students meet these standards. When a student achieves a standard, they gain a number of credits. Students must achieve a certain number of credits to gain an NCEA certificate.

There are three levels of NCEA certificate, depending on the difficulty of the standards achieved. In general, students work through levels 1 to 3 in years 11 to 13 at school. Students are recognised for high achievement at each level by gaining NCEA with Merit or NCEA with Excellence. High achievement in a course is also recognised.